Reach YOUR Peak! Inside Scoop #7

RYP CoverOver the last couple of weeks I have been blogging about my new book “Reach YOUR Peak! Become CEO of Your Success!” and sharing excerpts of the 16 chapters with you. RYP is the culmination of four years of research and training that I have done and I’m very proud of the result!

The book can be read easily in a weekend but I encourage you to read each chapter and then reflect on the note section and “to do list” that you’ll find. Many of the suggested activities involve you talking with others who know you well and with peers in your workplace or industry. Treat each chapter like a mini-workshop and fully complete it before moving on to the next. RYP is built like a house – foundation, walls, roof, interior completion and finishing touches. Follow the plan, grow your knowledge and then move ahead to the next phase.

Today, we’ll take a look at Chapters 13 and 14:

Chapter 13 – “Tools for Success”

This chapter turns the spotlight onto four areas that are your “tools for success” – Personal Branding, Time Management, Qualifying Prospects, and Networking vs. Schmoozing. Harnessing the tools for success is an absolute necessity in developing repeat business from current clients, effective testimonials, invaluable recommendations, and a legacy of achievement for your business!

We don’t have the space here to go into all four of the tools, but let’s take a look at the one that can have most profound impact on your business, especially in the short term – time management! CEO’s have only a few “golden business hours” a day to make a real impact on the company’s financial health. They can’t afford to waste a moment of time on mundane tasks or low productivity – and neither should you! Here’s an excerpt that deals with my philosophy on planning and running your day effectively:

“My Dad taught me the art of “back-timing” – starting at the hard deadline of a project and worked backward to lay in each element moment by moment in order to obtain a clear roadmap to executing the project. He did this daily to make sure his shows went off without a hitch. He brought this philosophy home and showed me how to use it to do many practical daily activities: to plan an efficient car trip and estimate arrival times, to get tasks done in a highly efficient and orderly manner without undue stress, and even how to juggle multiple projects or subjects in high school and college to get the best grades possible.

Without realizing it, I took this prioritization of tasks with me into the workplace. I start my day with a plan to achieve and complete the most important projects first. Then I fill in the gaps of time with projects that I can pull forward from due dates later in the week.”

Chapter 14 – “Business Plan Creation”

In chapter 14, the discussion turns to the specific steps you can take to create a vibrant, effective and living business plan to map out your climb up the mountain! The four areas covered in the chapter are Mission Statements, Vision Statements, SMART Goals, and Check Points to Make Sure You’re On Track.

Like the chapter summary above, we don’t have the space to go into all four of them here so let’s take a look one section that deals with mission and vision statements – an area where most people have trouble.

“The mission statement is more difficult, at least it was for me. Spend quality time on it though – it will plug the coordinates into the GPS of your success path!

Here’s my vision statement. I wrote it in about ten minutes. This was the easy part:

My vision is to continue to allow God to use my spiritual gifts to inspire and empower those around me to reach their full potential.

Pretty succinct, from the heart, impactful, meaningful- this one is perfect for me. However, the mission statement is frankly STILL a work in progress. At the time of this writing, here’s the latest and greatest version:

My mission is to use my spiritual gifts of writing, speaking and empowering those around me to be their best by passionately presenting, creatively crafting, and positively impacting individuals, groups, and businesses through the message I share.

Much more specific than the vision statement, my mission statement seems to constantly evolve.”

In the next blog, we’ll take a look at the final two Chapters, 15 and 16. To order the book or the E-book now, go to my website at www.BradRaney.com and look for the link on the Homepage or go to the Products page. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to reach out to me at Brad@BradRaney.com.

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

